carmudgeons.com  

Go Back   carmudgeons.com > Automotive Forums > Car Talk

Old 07-05-2006, 11:02 AM   #1
John V
No more BMWs

Carmudgeonly Ride: Ram, MS3, CX-5, RX-8
Drove an E90 330.

I was an instructor at one of our region's novice autocross schools this Saturday. Several cool cars showed. "The holy grail" being one of them, a low-mile '93 MR-2 non-turbo, no-sunroof, no t-top car. But I digress. One of the students had an E90 330 that he picked up about 6 months ago. I got to take a few cuts at the course in the car. Okay, so the interior is nice, the materials are of good quality, blah blah blah all the usual stuff you can figure out at the dealership. But how did it DRIVE? Disappointing.

First of all, it was whisper-quiet, even at WOT. Not a hint of the typically excellent-sounding I-6 under the hood. Even worse, the engine had really soggy throttle response. BMW seems to be getting ever-worse with their electronic throttles. There was an annoying delay between hitting the pedal and the car generating forward motion. The linearity was poor as well. Half throttle felt exactly the same as full throttle. Worsening the situation is the fact that the car is flat out slow. I was expecting 330i ZHP / E36 M3 levels of acceleration. Not even close. Maybe it was the complete lack of any kind of passion from the engine and exhaust. Maybe it was the soggy throttle. Maybe it's the Audi A4 level of mass in this new chassis. I . It just felt like a pig off the line.