carmudgeons.com  

Go Back   carmudgeons.com > Automotive Forums > Car Talk

Old 12-16-2008, 10:43 AM   #1
FC
Solving problems

Carmudgeonly Ride: M5 / 718 GTS / Cooper S / GTI / LR4
Finally drove Wrangler unltd (Rubicon)

I know most don't care, but still.

I drove a completely loaded '09 that was the only one in stock at the dealership that's less a than a mile form work.

In short, going into it, my expectations were so low that I came out pleasantly surprised.

There is a lot that is very different about the car. It's really not big. I'm 5'10" and I was taller than it. The rear seats have very short bottoms and very steep backs - and not a lot of leg room. Cargo behind it is good but not impressive. The front row was better. The doors don't have stops, so the wind caught one and it swang like crazy. Lot's of other quirks and things that remind you this is no ordinary vehicle.

Anyhow, the drive... (and keep in mind I have very little experience driving SUV's) Well, it's is remarkably quiet. Very smooth running at idle. Also, let go of the brake and the car doesn't move - at all. You really have to give it gas for it to move - must be an offroad thing, which makes perfect sense. It isn't that slow. Granted, I immediately changed my driving style to that of a normal car. For average street driving the motor is adequate. Hit the gas and it strains to gain speed quickly, but it is not dangerously slow. I suspect 50-70 acceleration will be poor, but this is a wrangler. At 60mph it also wasn't as noisy or windy as I had expected (and ti was VERY windy yesterday). Amazingly, and I don't care that it was new, that car was completely rattle-free even over railroad tracks. Considering all the removable body parts, this really impressed me. It doens't feel big or very heavy (relative to SUV's). It didn't feel bigger or heavier than the V70R (though much clumsier, of course). Brakes were not good. Not awful, but definitely not good. Also, the lighting was piss poor. It's go