carmudgeons.com

carmudgeons.com (http://forums.carmudgeons.com/index.php)
-   Car Talk (http://forums.carmudgeons.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   I'm waffling on selling the Boxster (http://forums.carmudgeons.com/showthread.php?t=151575)

John V 07-16-2018 07:43 AM

I'm waffling on selling the Boxster

I think I'm getting old.

When I was 12, I looked through car magazines and ogled over Ferraris, Lamborghinis and the like, realizing that I'd probably never own one.
By the time I was 15 (1993) and getting close to driving, I started ogling over the new cars that were closer to being attainable, but still well out of reach (third-gen Mazda RX-7, E36 BMW M3, C4 Corvette, Gen4 Camaro).
When I turned 16 and had a license, I realized I could afford an older version of one of those cars, and in fact went and bought one (second-gen RX-7 turbo).
When I graduated college, the cars I wanted when I was 15-18 were attainable, so I bought one (E36 M3). And I've kind of stayed in that lane for the last 17 years. I've been fortunate enough to own a lot of cool (in my mind) cars for not a lot of money. Buy used and cheap, enjoy, sell slightly more used and for about the same money.