carmudgeons.com

carmudgeons.com (http://forums.carmudgeons.com/index.php)
-   Car Talk (http://forums.carmudgeons.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   tires for M3 (http://forums.carmudgeons.com/showthread.php?t=147573)

zach 04-06-2018 09:42 AM

tires for M3

Any thoughts on Michelin Pilot Supersport vs. 4S? 4S wasn't available in the right size until very recently. I've certainly read great things about the 4S...

equ 04-06-2018 09:43 AM

Subscribed, as I have plenty of PSS but no 4S experience...

bren 04-06-2018 09:54 AM

Just based on the TR review I'd say it's a no-brainer.

Quote:

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S performs all the tasks expected of a Max Performance Summer tire at a very high level. From its athletic and composed nature on the road, to its best-in-test dry track figures, to its easily accessible performance in the wet, the Pilot Sport 4S really is the complete package.

FC 04-06-2018 09:56 AM

I've heard great things about the 4S. Can't go wrong. But I loved the PSS in the 997TT.

ff 04-06-2018 10:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bren (Post 526948)
Just based on the TR review I'd say it's a no-brainer.

That sounds like the same review they gave the PSS a couple of years ago.

JST 04-06-2018 10:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ff (Post 526955)
That sounds like the same review they gave the PSS a couple of years ago.

I mean the PSS is pretty old now, in tire terms--the set on my Boxster is from 2012 (which, jesus, means I probably need new tires, even though they've only got about 7500 miles on them).

Tire tech moves pretty quickly, so I guess it's not shocking there's something bigger and better now.

zach 04-06-2018 10:25 AM

Cool - I'll get the 4S. The car actually has PS2s on it right now!

equ 04-06-2018 10:40 AM