carmudgeons.com

carmudgeons.com (http://forums.carmudgeons.com/index.php)
-   Technical Superiority (http://forums.carmudgeons.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Engine/Transmission Question (http://forums.carmudgeons.com/showthread.php?t=133000)

3LOU5 03-01-2017 10:54 PM

Engine/Transmission Question

In your opinion/experience, which engine do you think will have more trouble-free miles ??

A) Normally-aspirated 3.7L V-6 (I believe it's a Ford powerplant)
B) Turbocharged 2.5L in-line four

Transmission:

A) 6-speed automatic
B) CVT (the latest CVT in the Nissan Murano....guess what I'm trying to figure out is if those Nissan CVTs are beefy/reliable enough to handle their V-6)

3LOU5 03-01-2017 11:14 PM

I have NO experience with turbos.

In fact, the only turbo I've ever driven was a Saab 900 back in the early '90s. While fun-to-drive, especially up in the mountains of Colorado where I was passing normally-aspirated cars left and right, the replacement of its turbo was ridonkulous.....like $1200 iirc....JUST FOR THE PART !!

I'm wondering if the today's turbos are better than the ones back then. With proper care, how long do I expect one to last ??

I'm thinking also that today's synthetic oils are WAY better equipped to handle the stress and extreme heat of such devices.

:dunno::dunno:

Nick M3 03-02-2017 07:15 AM

CVTs are awful. Stay away.

And a turbo will pretty much always be less reliable than an N/A motor. More parts to fail. But they are pretty durable these days.

FC 03-02-2017 08:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nick M3 (Post 497608)

And a turbo will pretty much always be less reliable than an N/A motor. More parts to fail. But they are pretty durable these days.

:+1 to both.

bren 03-02-2017 09:25 AM

Need to know more about engine architecture. Compression ratio. Hydraulic or solid lifter? Timing chain or belt? Manufacturer service requirements, etc..

Nick M3 03-02-2017 09:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bren (Post 497620)