PDA

View Full Version : blown

hfh330i
01-06-2004, 02:49 PM
Trying to increase my automotive knowledge...I understand the basic differences between a turbo and supercharger and how they increase the power of the engine; however which form of forced induction is the more efficient use of energy? Why would one prefer one or the other? Just curious. :?:

Plaz
01-06-2004, 02:55 PM
I'm no expert, but my understanding is that a supercharger will deliver a more even power curve, making the car feel like it just has a bigger engine, while a turbo is less parasitic and potentially more powerful, but suffers from a less linear curve... hence "turbo lag".

FC
01-06-2004, 03:06 PM
I'm no expert, but my understanding is that a supercharger will deliver a more even power curve, making the car feel like it just has a bigger engine, while a turbo is less parasitic and potentially more powerful, but suffers from a less linear curve... hence "turbo lag".

I think that is correct. It also explains why MB sticks to superchargers given that they are a luxury maker and "God forbid" the customers registered significant lag in their cars. Meanwhile Prosche prefers turbos; more performance at the expense of some non-linear response early on.

blee
01-06-2004, 03:13 PM
Trying to increase my automotive knowledge...I understand the basic differences between a turbo and supercharger and how they increase the power of the engine; however which form of forced induction is the more efficient use of energy? Why would one prefer one or the other? Just curious. :?:

It kind of depends on what you want, and how you want it. Both forms of forced induction (FI) can give you tremendous amount of extra power for a relatively modest amount of money, up to a point.