PDA

View Full Version : Almost bought air compressor. Question


rumatt
02-20-2006, 10:09 PM
I found this Craftsman compressor on craigslist for $100 http://newyork.craigslist.org/wch/tls/135509026.html New it's $328 at sears. The guy said it's 1.5 years old and has been sitting in his garage unused almost the whole time.

I figured for $100, how can you go wrong.... until I get there and it kept blowing his circuit breaker. It would work, but if you turned it on and off a couple times it would trip the breaker. We tried 3 different outlets on different ends of the house with the same result.

I told him I didn't want it because it was likely defective, possibly drawing too much power. The compressor is 120V, 15 amps. He argued he just had too many lights on in his house. :scratch:

Thoughts? Anyone thing it could be working fine and he just has crappy wiring? He wouldn't sell it for less, or let me take it home to try it.

BahnBaum
02-20-2006, 10:29 PM
I found this Craftsman compressor on craigslist for $100 http://newyork.craigslist.org/wch/tls/135509026.html New it's $328 at sears. The guy said it's 1.5 years old and has been sitting in his garage unused almost the whole time.

I figured for $100, how can you go wrong.... until I get there and it kept blowing his circuit breaker. It would work, but if you turned it on and off a couple times it would trip the breaker. We tried 3 different outlets on different ends of the house with the same result.

I told him I didn't want it because it was likely defective, possibly drawing too much power. The compressor is 120V, 15 amps. He argued he just had too many lights on in his house. :scratch:

Thoughts? Anyone thing it could be working fine and he just has crappy wiring? He wouldn't sell it for less, or let me take it home to try it.


Unless there's something fundamentally wrong with the guys home wiring, I'd say there's a problem with it.

Alex

Terry Kennedy
02-20-2006, 11:38 PM
I told him I didn't want it because it was likely defective, possibly drawing too much power. The compressor is 120V, 15 amps. He argued he just had too many lights on in his house. :scratch:

Thoughts? Anyone thing it could be working fine and he just has crappy wiring? He wouldn't sell it for less, or let me take it home to try it.If it has a 15A nameplate rating it needs a dedicated 20A circuit to run. What is the CFM @ PSI rating? If it needs 15A it is either a very large unit or quite inefficient. My pancake Thomas unit runs my air impact wrench and anything else I throw at it, and lives happily on a 15A circuit with the rest of my garage.

rumatt
02-20-2006, 11:43 PM
If it has a 15A nameplate rating it needs a dedicated 20A circuit to run.

Huh. Really? Yeah, it said "120V 15amp" on the front.


What is the CFM @ PSI rating?

It's basically this unit (possibly an earlier version) http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/product.do?BV_UseBVCookie=Yes&vertical=TOOL&pid=00916732000

SCFM Delivery At 40 psi: 8.6 SCFM
SCFM Delivery At 90 psi: 6.4 SCFM
Tank Capacity 33 gal.
Maximum Compressor psi 150 psi
Motor-Engine: Amps 15.0
Horsepower 6/2 hp

rumatt
02-21-2006, 12:07 AM
Huh. Maybe the compressor is OK, and it will work if I plug it into a 20 amp outlet in my garage.

I'm finding a number of posts like this:

I have the Sears Craftsman 18-gallon air compressor (horizontal tank mounted
on wheels). It's easy to move but quite heavy to lift for one person. I
have the Craftsman finish nailing gun (capacity 3/4" to 2-1/2" finish nails)
for trimwork. Brad nails are too short to fasten thick trim to studs. My
compressor has 4 horsepower and needs a 20-amp circuit to avoid occasional
tripping of 15-amp breakers. I use a 12-gauge extension cord and plug it
into a 20-amp outlet in the kitchen or laundry room. Although the
compressor is quite loud (scares the devil out of my cats), it only runs for
about 20 seconds every 10 minutes to recharge the tank when using the finish
nailer.

SteveM
02-21-2006, 12:20 AM
I have that exact compressor. It is fine for occasional use.

My observations -

1. Noise. If you use it a lot, you will quickly get tired of the noise with this compressor and all others that are oil-less single stage devices. They tend to hammer loudly and get louder as they get up to pressure. It's loud enough that it isn't fun to be around if it cycles frequently.

2. Airflow. SCFM is where it's at; the higher the better, max psi and HP mean next to nothing. Analyze what you will be using the compressor for before selecting this unit. If you're going to run HVLP paint guns, air sanders, and impact wrenches this compressor will barely keep up. It works fine with air ratchets, nailers, filling tires, and random orbital sanders (not inline or jitterbug sanders). As an example, this compressor will take off about one wheel with an impact wrench then it has to recharge the tank.

As you can see, it's kind of a double-whammy between noise and airflow.

I converted mine to 220V, prior to that I used it on a 15A 110 circuit without issue (I did build a 10 awg 6 foot extension cord for it). The higher voltage makes the motor slightly more efficient, but does nothing for the airflow or noise (obviously).

rumatt
02-21-2006, 12:38 AM
Analyze what you will be using the compressor for before selecting this unit.

What I NEED now, is someting to pump this portable tank (http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/product.do?BV_UseBVCookie=Yes&vertical=TOOL&pid=00915200000&subcat=Air+Compressors+%26+Inflators) up to 135 PSI for using at autocrosses and general tire fill-ups. The lame pumps at gas stations by me only go up to about 60-80 PSI.

I was going to buy something cheap ($50-$100) but when I found this used one for $100 I figured it would be fun to use it for some air tools as well.

But I'm planing to buy a cordless impact wrench, so maybe I'll just buy this lame compressor (http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/product.do?BV_UseBVCookie=Yes&vertical=TOOL&pid=02875117000&subcat=Air+Compressors+%26+Inflators) to fill my portable tank before autocrosses and call it a day.

undefined
02-21-2006, 12:42 AM
you need a compressor for your compressor?

rumatt
02-21-2006, 12:44 AM
you need a compressor for your portable tank?


Fixed.

Yes.

SteveM
02-21-2006, 12:46 AM
What I NEED now, is someting to pump this portable tank (http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/product.do?BV_UseBVCookie=Yes&vertical=TOOL&pid=00915200000&subcat=Air+Compressors+%26+Inflators) up to 135 PSI for using at autocrosses and general tire fill-ups. The lame pumps at gas stations by me only go up to about 60-80 PSI.

I was going to buy something cheap ($50-$100) but when I found this used one for $100 I figured it would be fun to use it for some air tools as well.

But I'm planing to buy a cordless impact wrench, so maybe I'll just buy this lame compressor (http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/product.do?BV_UseBVCookie=Yes&vertical=TOOL&pid=02875117000&subcat=Air+Compressors+%26+Inflators) to fill my portable tank before autocrosses and call it a day.

The used one would work fine for charging that tank. I wouldn't buy the lame one without trying it on that volume first.

rumatt
02-21-2006, 01:53 AM
Wow. This is a known problem with craftsman compressors and some dude has written a DIY to fix the problem. http://www.compressor.pro-menu.com/

I'll see if I can get this guy to give me the compressor for $10 now, and then try to fix it. :mad2:

lip277
02-21-2006, 03:57 AM
Wow. This is a known problem with craftsman compressors and some dude has written a DIY to fix the problem. http://www.compressor.pro-menu.com/

You just gotta love the web...
:bustingup

10 bucks? Offer him 30 and see if he bites.

:lol:

rumatt
02-23-2006, 12:23 AM
10 bucks? Offer him 30 and see if he bites.

Ah well, I tried. After my mail, it turns out the guy fixed it himself, and now he's selling it for $200.

http://newyork.craigslist.org/wch/tls/135990955.html

:lol: :lol: :lol:

lip277
02-23-2006, 01:16 AM
Ah well, I tried. After my mail, it turns out the guy fixed it himself, and now he's selling it for $200.

http://newyork.craigslist.org/wch/tls/135990955.html

:lol: :lol: :lol:


You didn't make the mistake of telling him about the fix - Did you?

:lol:

rumatt
02-23-2006, 09:58 AM
You didn't make the mistake of telling him about the fix - Did you?

:lol:

: oops:

SteveM
02-23-2006, 11:03 AM
/Earl
If you hadn't, Karma would have evened the score!
/Earl