PDA

View Full Version : How difficult is it to replace an engine thermostat?

TD
12-08-2005, 01:27 PM
On my 35-45 minute commute the last few days my engine temp gauge has been barely rising off of the cold peg. Normally it points straight up after the engine gets warm. This is leading me to suspect that the thermostat is stuck open.

Does my suspicion sound correct? And how difficult is this to do?

BahnBaum
12-08-2005, 01:31 PM
http://www.pelicanparts.com/bmw/techarticles/E36-Thermostat/E36-Thermostat.htm

Alex

JST
12-08-2005, 01:32 PM
On my 35-45 minute commute the last few days my engine temp gauge has been barely rising off of the cold peg. Normally it points straight up after the engine gets warm. This is leading me to suspect that the thermostat is stuck open.

Does my suspicion sound correct? And how difficult is this to do?

Your suspicion sounds dead on. It is not tremendously difficult; I've never done it before, but have seen DIYs floating around when I was looking in to the issue for my old 323. You can probably find those over at bimmerforums, if nowhere else.

The thing is, while you're at it, you definitely should replace the water pump, and given the failure propensity for E36 radiators at 80-100K miles, you should probably put in a new radiator and hoses, as well.

BahnBaum
12-08-2005, 01:35 PM
Your suspicion sounds dead on. It is not tremendously difficult; I've never done it before, but have seen DIYs floating around when I was looking in to the issue for my old 323. You can probably find those over at bimmerforums, if nowhere else.

The thing is, while you're at it, you definitely should replace the water pump, and given the failure propensity for E36 radiators at 80-100K miles, you should probably put in a new radiator and hoses, as well.

http://www.pelicanparts.com/BMW/techarticles/E36-Water-Pump/E36-water-pump.htm

http://www.pelicanparts.com/bmw/techarticles/E36-Radiator-Replacement/E36-Radiator-Replacement.htm

Alex

ff